Delegation: Why It’s so Hard to Let Go #MadnessManaged

I’m somehow really good at delegation. It’s a gift that came to me from God, certainly because I don’t know how else I would have done it. Delegating isn’t easy though.

 

I never know what’s going to happen, when it’s going to happen, if it’ll turn out right. I never know if what I want to happen will happen.

 

And that’s the problem, right? It’s not about what I want; it’s about what God wants. It’s about what the church and the congregation wants. We have to give up our ego, our control and let the Spirit work in ways we never would have expected. If we don’t, then we’re certainly missing out.

 

People will feel excluded. And since I just wrote a sermon all about exclusion and how we need to NOT do that, it’s probably not a good thing to exclude. The church functions the way it does because we all work together to get the mission of God done. No one person can do it all, and for that matter, no one church can do it all.

 

I’ve read a lot of small churches other the past few years. I’m a small church pastor, so why not, but the one thing that struck out at me was that we CANNOT do it all, and we shouldn’t expect to. There are things we do really well and things we don’t, and that’s not necessarily a bad thing.

 

One of my current calls is fantastic at Bible Study and Sunday School. They love to learn, and they love to be in those types of discussions. But ask them to go on a mission trip and it’s like pulling teeth. It’s the complete opposite at my other congregation. I was lucky to have two people show up to a Bible Study I started, which I ended up stopping. But they love doing hands-on mission activities.

 

Both churches are absolutely necessary to the mission of God, and both churches work to carry out the Good News. They go about it in two very different ways, and they attract very different people. More people learn more things.

 

It’s the same as being a pastor. There are some things I’m really good at (planning and implanting special services, listening to the congregation, getting a congregation to move), but there are things I’m really not so great at (home visits, sitting in endless and pointless meetings, being someone who is excited to meet someone new). Those are not my gifts, so by delegating out tasks to others I help improve the community of the church. The things I don’t do well can be done by someone who will hit it out of the park.

 

Look at it this way too, by delegating and working with someone else, I can help that person realize the gifts or their failings. I can help that person know more about themselves and their calling, and we truly can be working together to share the love of Christ with all.

Leave a Reply

