Recap Jan 29-Feb 2 #ThrowbackThursday #MinistryDone

This week has been pretty easy on my nerves, which is a good thing. I’m in the process of planning a mission trip for the entire district, and I finished the latest hurdle with that one. The next won’t be for awhile so I can now focus on Elder’s Retreats and Lent which are coming up fast.

This isn’t actually the end of my week either. I have a meeting tomorrow and decided to turn it into a half day of work so I can get an extra sermon written this week so that when I’m at Minister’s Week in a couple weeks (Go Brite!) I don’t have to worry about writing a sermon. Saturday there’s a church baby shower–no, it’s not for me!

I took a class this week on clergy taxes, and even though I thought I was prepared, like 90% of it was still Greek, and not the Greek in the Bible. That I could handle. It was interesting to realize how much I thought I knew, and how much I had absolutely not a clue on.

I’m also prepping for a study that’ll start at the end of February that I feel crazy out of my depth for. We’re trying a new system in one of my congregations, a system of small groups. We (the elder’s and I) have noticed that there is a severe lack of individual faith growing going on. People come to church, they leave, and they have little desire to for any time of personal study. We want to change this because personal and small group study is so very important.

We’re trying out the G3 system. You can check that out here (I’ve read the book 3 times now, and it only takes like 2 hours to read, so it’s a good quick one if you want some information on it). Our hope is to have 3-5 groups up and going, which for a church that averages 45-50 on a Sunday sounds about right to start with. Here’s to hope and here’s to praying.

We started the journey with the whole congregation last week, and I pray it continues for a long time to come. I hope it helps us grow, not in numbers, but in spirituality, in depth of our relationship with God, and in our own journeys.

Leave a Reply

