Recap Feb 12-16 #ThrowbackThursday

What in the world am I doing? I ask myself that all the time, you know. I think a lot of ministers do, especially in some situations.

It’s been an interesting and semi-rough week, but not without its celebrations and joy. I’ve dealt with conflict, LOADS of illness, meetings galore, and so much new information on so many new topics that I think it’s going to take me two months to digest and process it all.

We’re in the midst of changes at both my congregations, and with all this illness going around, it’s making it tough for things to happen on the timeline we wanted to. I always tell people when they’re new to planning that they should plan to be flexible, and usually I’m good at that, but this week I’m struggling.

I’ll be out of town all of next week, which is probably why. I want to make sure everyone is set up and ready to go so that while I’m gone there are far less bumps in the road. I want to plan to help people, but I also have to keep reminding myself things happen on God’s time.

I also read a lot of books, so much of my last few weeks have been spent with my nose in several books. I’m thinking of starting a “Book Review” page on here so I can share my opinions on the books, whether they were helpful or not, etc.

In October/November I really wanted to start taking better care of my health too. Which led me to joining Beachbody, which has now led me to being a Beachbody coach, but seriously, I needed something else to do, right? But I did it for accountability. Health is important, not just our spiritual health, but our physical health as pastors. I will be posting a blog on this soon, not Beachbody jargon, but self-care and what it is and how I do it.

Self-care is something we hear about all the time, and it is tres, tres important. So I’ve taken that seriously in my journey, and even though this week has had ups and downs, even though I’m losing a day off on Saturday for a funeral and won’t have another day off until March 3 (assuming nothing else gets put in the way of that), I know I can take care of myself to still have enough energy to keep doing my job, and to keep doing God’s work to the best of my God-given abilities.

Leave a Reply

