The Eunuch #DevotionDandy #Acts8 #Philip

Read Acts 8:26-40

 

I’ve always been a friend to outcasts. Maybe it’s my personality or maybe it’s a gift from God, who knows. But I’ve always been a friend to outcasts. That’s part of why I loved my particular high school so much; it was like a school full of outcasts.

 

If we never allowed people into our group, into our church, then our churches would die. If we never thought to go outside the normal bounds, talk to the people who are considered “unworthy” then we’d never grow (spiritually or otherwise). The eunuch represents that exactly.

 

We are a people who are called to find others, but how can we do that if we only talk to someone we’re supposed to talk to? I struggle with this a lot. I’m a very shy person, and I don’t like talking to people I don’t know. I can tell you exactly how I would be reacting if I had been Philip in this story, or if I’d been the Eunuch for that matter.

 

My heart would be racing so fast that I’d be sure it was about to scamper away and leave me dead or dying. My palms would get clammy and sweaty, my face would get pale even though it would feel like every ounce of heat in my body would be racing toward it.

 

Flat out, I do not like to talk to people I don’t know. (Side note: this also happens when I have to make phone calls.)

 

But we are supposed to talk to other people. We’re supposed to talk to people outside of our regular circles. We are called by God to do this. I may not like that part of being a Christian, but it’s part of being a Christian. This story represents that in so many ways.

 

The outsider. The welcome. The teaching.

 

Philip didn’t stop at just teaching the Eunuch about one scripture. He continued to teach him, to guide him, to help him become a disciple who then could turn around and effect even more lives. It’s the compound effect and the exponential effect all in one. This is how our churches and numbers grow, but this is how we grow spiritually, but following the call of our faith and the guidance of the Holy Spirit.

Leave a Reply

